R&D on Experimental Technologies

Annual Reports      Upcoming events    Recent publications 


The CERN EP department has launched a strategic R&D programme on technologies for future experiments. This initiative covers detector hardware, electronics, software and detector magnets for new experiments and detector upgrades beyond LHC phase II.

In two public workshops held in 2018, the work programme was shaped in a bottom-up process which took into account the input and feedback of many colleagues from the HEP community. Many developments are carried out in cooperation with external groups. The work programme is documented in a detailed R&D report. A 10-pages summary was submitted as input to the European Strategy Group. The R&D activities have gradually started up in January 2020.

In spring 2023 a continuation proposal of the R&D programme has been presented to and approved by the CERN Directorate. The work plan covers the period 2024 to 2028, is well aligned with the ECFA Detector R&D Roadmap, and is the basis for CERN's contributions to the DRD collaborations. 

The work is organised in 12 work packages (see table below). A steering committee oversees all essential aspects of the programme.

EP R&D Organization

Steering Committee

Chair: Manfred Krammer

Coordinator: Giovanna Lehmann Miotto

Members: David Barney (EP-CMX), Richard Hawkings (EP-DI), Susanne Kühn (EP-ADE), Rolf Lindner (EP-LBO), Pere Mato Vila (EP-SFT), Michel Raymond (EP-ADO), Christoph Rembser (EP-ADO), Werner Riegler (EP-AIO), Burkhard Schmidt (EP-DT), Andreas Schopper (EP-LBD), Michele Selvaggi (EP-CMG), Eva Sicking (EP-DT), Francois Vasey (EP-ESE)

Work Packages

WP Work Package WP leader & deputy
1.1 Novel hybrid Silicon detectors Victor Coco, Paula Collins
1.2 Monolithic depleted  Silicon sensors Francois Vasey, Federico Faccio
1.3 Silicon Modules  Dominik Dannheim, Petra Riedler
1.4 Silicon simulation and characterisation Michael Moll, Dominik Dannheim
2 Gas detectors Eraldo Oliveri, Florian Brunbauer
3 Calorimetry and light based detectors Philipp Gerhard Roloff, Floris Keizer
4 Detector Mechanics Corrado Gargiulo, Paolo Petagna
5 IC technologies Kostas Kloukinas, Davide Ceresa
6 High Speed Links Jan Troska, Szymon Kulis
7 Software Graeme Stewart, Andre Sailer
8 Detector Magnets Benoit Cure, Matthias Mentink
9 Data AcQuisition Wainer Vandelli, Tommaso Colombo